Morocco, Portugal, Spain To Co-Host 2030 FIFA World Cup

Morocco, Portugal, Spain To Co-Host 2030 FIFA World Cup


Morocco, Portugal and Spain will co-host the 2030 FIFA World Cup tournament.

In a statement on FIFAs website on Wednesday, October 4, 2023, the decision was taken by the FIFA Council.

Following extensive consultation with all confederations and given the importance of marking the centenary of the FIFA World Cup the FIFA Council took key decisions in relation to the bidding and hosting of the Centenary edition of the FIFA World Cup in 2030 during its meeting held by videoconference from the Home of FIFA.

In 2030, the FIFA World Cup will unite three continents and six countries, inviting the entire world to join in the celebration of the beautiful game, the Centenary and the FIFA World Cup itself.

The FIFA Council unanimously agreed that the sole candidacy will be the combined bid of Morocco, Portugal, and Spain, which will host the event in 2030 and qualify automatically from the existing slot allocation subject to the completion of a successful bidding process conducted by FIFA and a decision by the FIFA Congress in 2024.

Additionally, having taken into account the historical context of the first-ever FIFA World Cup, the FIFA Council further unanimously agreed to host a unique centenary celebration ceremony in the countrys capital, Montevideo, where the first ever FIFA World Cup took place in 2030, as well as three World Cup matches in Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay respectively.

Commenting on the decision to award the hosting right to the three countries, FIFA President Gianni Infantino:In a divided world, FIFA and football are uniting. The FIFA Council, representing the entire world of football, unanimously agreed to celebrate the centenary of the FIFA World Cup, whose first edition was played in Uruguay in 1930, in the most appropriate way.

As a result, a celebration will take place in South America and three South American countries – Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay – will organise one match each of the FIFA World Cup 2030. The first of these three matches will of course be played at the stadium where it all began, in Montevideos mythical Estdio Centenrio, precisely to celebrate the centenary edition of the FIFA World Cup.

Infantino added:The FIFA Council also agreed unanimously that the only bid to host the FIFA World Cup 2030 will be the joint bid of Morocco, Portugal and Spain. Two continents – Africa and Europe – united not only in a celebration of football but also in providing unique social and cultural cohesion. What a great message of peace, tolerance and inclusion.

In 2030, we will have a unique global footprint, three continents Africa, Europe and South America six countries Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain and Uruguay welcoming and uniting the world while celebrating together the beautiful game, the centenary and the FIFA World Cup.

While Morocco and Portugal have never staged the FIFA World Cup, Spain hosted the tournament in 1982.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.